Secretary for Transport

Cde. John Mutorwa (Head)

John Mutorwa (born 17 August 1957) is a Namibian politician and current minister of Agriculture. A member of the South West Africa People's Organization (SWAPO), Mutorwa has served in the National Assembly of Namibia as well as the cabinet since 1992. Mutorwa was the Minister of Youth, National Services, Sport and Culture from 2005 to 2010; he has served as Minister of Agriculture since 2010. Born at Nyangana in Okavango Region, Mutorwa attended the University of Fort Hare, from where he graduated in 1984. He earned a B.A. in 1995 from the University of Namibia.

In 2002, he earned a master's degree in Interdisciplinary studies from the University of Montana.Following his education at Fort Hare, Mutorwa returned to Kavangoland, where he worked as a teacher and principal from 1985 to 1990. He also worked for reconciliation efforts, serving as Secretary of the Repatriation, Resettlement and Rehabilitation of Roman Catholic Justice and Peace Commission from 1988 to 1989. Following independence in 1990, he served as Regional Commissioner for Kavango, Omega, and Tsumkwe until 1992. In that year, Mutorwa joined the government in Windhoek as a Member of Parliament.

Beginning in 1992 as well, Mutorwa served in various posts in the cabinet; he was Deputy Minister of Water Affairs in the Office of the President from 1992 to 1993 and Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources from 1994 to 1995.

In 1995, he was promoted to head the Ministry of Basic Education and Culture, remaining there until 2005. In a cabinet shake up in 2005, he became the Minister of Youth, National Services, Sport and Culture, and in 2010 he was moved to the post of Minister of Agriculture, Water and Forestry. Under President Hage Geingob, Mutorwa was retained in his post as Minister of Agriculture, Water and Forestry in March 2015. In February 2018, Mutorwa was appointed as the Minister of Works and Transportation.


Cde. Kornelia Shilunga (Deputy)